Moving an existing garden tap to another position

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I have a dilemma concerning the moving of an existing garden tap.
Short story… I have just had a conservatory built to the back of my house. As part of my contract with the conservatory company, they will need to move the garden tap from the back of the kitchen to the front of the conservatory (about 4/5 metres away)

The original position of the garden tap had a drain near it (not directly below it but near it), the conservatory company is planning to move the garden tap to the front of the conservatory however they are not planning to put a drain/drainage near by because it wasn’t put down in our contract. I’m no expert in plumping or draining but I assume that a new position of the garden tap will need some sort of drainage regardless if it was in the contract or not?

My questions:

1) If there is no drain will I have any problem in the future?
2) Is the company in the right or wrong?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Why would you need a drain underneath the garden tap, are you likely to leave it free running for long lengths of time,
A garden tap is normally used for filling watering cans or Garden Hose fitted to it.

A garden tap doesn't need a drain, (unless you intend to leave it leaking and dripping all the time....). It was presumably over a drain used for other things as well.

If it is over a hard surface, then don't worry about it, the little bit of water that will be spilt etc. from a garden tap will just runway/dry up etc.