1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Moving gas & electric meter or new digital meters?

Discussion in 'General DIY' started by Ubik_Fresh, 28 Jan 2016.

  1. Ubik_Fresh

    Ubik_Fresh

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all,

    I’ve just moved into my first home and am renovating. The gas meter and electricity meter are located just below the window in the front room and are the old style bulky meters with dials. They’re an eyesore and very much in the way. The location (not quite in a corner) makes them hard to box off without losing space.

    So, I have two options: I could bite the bullet and significant cost to move them outside (expensive I gather), or get them replace with digital meters if my provider will do this. Smaller footprint and wouldn’t be as in the way.

    For moving them I understand it’s the Elec (Northern Power Grid) & Gas Provodier (Norther Gas Networks) and not your Energy Supplier. Anyone have experience with a company like Crown Energy, who seem to offer to do the whole thing for you?

    Any advice? Anyone come up against a similar situation?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. flameport

    flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    8,248
    Thanks Received:
    1,517
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If they are in the way, moving outside is the only option.
    While some digital electricity meters are smaller than older types, not all are, and in particular smart meters are typically fairly large. The main fuse will be the same regardless.
    For the gas, a digital meter may be smaller, but the pipework, bracket and governor will be the same.
     
  4. Ubik_Fresh

    Ubik_Fresh

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Fair play, I feared this would be the case. Now to work out a way to get them both moved simultaneously! Maybe talk to Crown Energy for a quote as they seem to be able to do that kind of thing (at my cost I imagine!)
     
  5. JohnD

    JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    60,020
    Thanks Received:
    3,096
    Location:
    Dunfermline
    Country:
    Cook Islands
    If you contact your supplier (name on the bill) and say that the meters are inside the house, you are often out, would it be convenient to them to have the meters on the outside, you might find them quite keen.
     
  6. Ubik_Fresh

    Ubik_Fresh

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can definitely give that go. No idea what Scottish Power are like in these instances.
     
  7. foxhole

    foxhole

    Joined:
    14 Mar 2006
    Messages:
    14,479
    Thanks Received:
    1,553
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I doubt it, more convenient for every meter to be outside, but you wont find them moving meters free of charge.
     
  8. chappers

    chappers

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    3,254
    Thanks Received:
    357
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    expensive and slow, there is a whole process to go through.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page