Moving Rad Pipes Below Floorboards

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
In a house i am about to buy the rads are supplied by copper pipes running parallel to, and above, the floor (T&G wooden boards).

How difficult would it be to replace these pipes with ones located below the floorboards, in the cavity between floor and ceiling? The rads are parallel to the length of the boards, so a minimal number would need to be lifted for access.

I am a complete novice at plumbing, but otherwise a relatively experienced DIYer.

Thinking of getting someone in to do it, but i won't bother if it's easy, i'd rather do it myself

Sponsored Links
Never said i needed to!

The whole house is covered in pipework, not much boxing in etc.

From a purely visual point of view, i want to know whether it's easy, or whether there's some really obvious reason not to.

The reason the pipes are above the floor is presuambly because the heating was fitted years after the floor was laid, and it's a million times easier to fit the pipes without lifting the floor

Floor boards will have to come up as well as carpets to lay your pipes.
A lot of work and disruption, better to do it before you move in.Have it done professionally but if you offer to do the donkey work the job will be cheaper :D

By the way, I love the smell of napalm in the morning :LOL:

Sponsored Links
Don't we all!

I also like waking up at the crack of Dawn...

Carpets are coming up anyway, cos the house was last decorated around 1960, so swirling patterns everywhere, so that won't be a problem.

Just got fitting an electric shower and getting the hideous textured ceilings to sort after these stupid pipes, and then it will in no worse a state than the house we're moving from! (moving up from a titchy 2 bed to a 3 bed with bigger rooms and central heating etc)

Good luck to you.
I've changed all the plumbing, rads, and converted to direct mains in my present abode because it was all old and outdated.