1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

my E-machine could not power on !

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by chung81tran, 19 Jan 2008.

  1. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi there,

    I have a PC with Lomita 010116 M/B with on-board graphics and sound. I do not know what happen when I move my Pc to another room, It could not Power on anymore. I opened and check everything as my computer knowlege, but it still don't work ! :((( . I thought it was caused by Power Supply, and I ordered and replaced a new Power Supply , but it still did not work !!!. I also checked the power on button, and it still fine. Now, I am trying to find where the mainboard fuse is located and check it because if there are nothing wrong with the fuse, at least the Pc led must be on or HDD led must be on, while neither of these leds are on.

    Any Bro who experienced in E-machine system please help me or Give me an advice !

    Thank you !
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Igorian

    Igorian

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The motherboard doesn't have a replaceable fuse.

    Unfortunately, e-machines are prone to PSU failure which, more often than not, takes out the motherboard (in my experience).

    Another (slim) possibility, is that the CMOS battery is completely dead. Remove it, and see if it boots. Like I said, very slim chance.
     
  4. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi there,

    Thank you for your advice,

    Would you please tell me about PSU, and how can I fix it? Is it easily to fix or should I replace a new main board?
     
  5. tim west

    tim west

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    11,885
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just a thought have you checked the socket outlet you plugged your computer into say with a table lamp to make sure there isnt a fault with it?
     
  6. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I gruarantee the socket outlet in good condition.

    Thank you !
     
  7. Igorian

    Igorian

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If PSU and MB gone, forget the repair, get a new machine.
     
  8. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi guys,

    the problem at here is I do not know what caused of the machine's death comes from. Help me please !

    I also changed a new battery aleady.
     
  9. Igorian

    Igorian

    Joined:
    30 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    2,736
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I said, it probably started as a PSU fault, which has destroyed the motherboard. To be sure, someone will actually have to look at it.

    Does the PSU fan spin?
    Do the hard drives power up?

    What happens when you connect your new PSU?

    I guess you have already checked the fuse in the poewr lead though?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Because as I know, when we shut down the computer, the whole system will be off and the fan of the PSU will be stopped too. Even the computer still connected to the outlet. If I take the power supply separately, and plug into the outlet, does the fan of the power supply spin or not. In my case, the fan does not spin. This Power supply is a new one, I just ordered it.

    Thank you !
     
  12. disinfo

    disinfo

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The power supply will not spin if its not connected to a working motherboard, the board sends a soft switch to tell the PSU to kick in.

    If you have a multimeter, turn it to DC and put it across the purple and any black wire on the ATX connector, you should get a 5.5V voltage (approx) if you dont, your MB is def screwed.

    Matt
     
  13. disinfo

    disinfo

    Joined:
    7 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    And sorry, i forgot to mention.

    If you short the green wire with any black wire on the PSU's atx connector (whilst disconnected from the MB) it should start the PSU.

    That way you can isolate whether a dead PSU or not.

    Matt
     
  14. virgin_paul

    virgin_paul

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When the PSU goes on an eMachines, it takes the motherboard and often the Hard Drive with it.
    If you've tried the PSU and it's still dead, then stop wasting your money. It's terminal.
    Buy a new PC, then install your old hard drive as the second HDD to see if there is any data recoverable from it.

    This is an eMachines trait. It's how they fail. They are good while they work, but this is how they all fail. I've seen loads of them.

    Paul
     
  15. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Are you playing?, I shorted the green wire and a black wire, but the PSU did not start, otherwise, the electric system of my room was cut off .!!!. Making sure the wire color that you tell me is correct ! thanks !
     
  16. Softus

    Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,559
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you doing this with the old PSU, or the new one?
     
  17. chung81tran

    chung81tran

    Joined:
    19 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    the new one which I just bought it. " Micro ATX 250W P4-12V" Model: MPS3ATX25
     
Loading...

Share This Page