1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help with hive thermost installation

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by Mubs, 22 Dec 2020.

  1. Mubs

    Mubs

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi i am thinking to replace my old thermostat Danfuss TP5000 to Hive active smart thermostat. My boiler is ideal logic ESP1 35 combi boiler. My existing programmer electrical connections are as below. Not sure where each wire goes in Hive single channel receiver. Can anyone please confirm if i can just replace it with my new hive receiver and insert Grey wire into N, Brown into L, black into Heating on(NO), yellow Earthing wire to Earth tether, same brown from L again to 1(common)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Gas2Air

    Gas2Air

    Joined:
    2 Aug 2004
    Messages:
    1,559
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes but you won’t need that link wire
     
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    22,826
    Thanks Received:
    9,238
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes and you will need the link wire to go from L to 1 on the hive
     
  5. Mubs

    Mubs

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I m confused now,@Gas2Air says I don’t need the link wire and @ianmcd says i need it. Can both of you confirm the reason why you think i need that and don’t need it. Does anyone of you had the same existing thermostat connection which you replaced with a Hive one or one of you is a qualified professional electrician as I don’t want to take any chances of damaging my boiler. What could be the consequence if i try without the link wire first( I assume something won’t work) and again if I connect the link wire what could happen.

    thanks in advance.
     
  6. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,585
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Confusion arises with Hive installations because the Single channel Hive has floating ( voltage free ) switch contacts and the Dual channel Hive has both switch commons connected internally to the Live terminal

    0x56.jpg
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. Mubs

    Mubs

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi Bernard in other words you are saying I don’t need the link wire from L to 1 in Hive as single channel receiver is floating switch contacts?
     
  9. CBW

    CBW

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    8,503
    Thanks Received:
    2,228
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You will need the link wire from L to 1 as per @ianmcd because it appears the common feed (live out) for your room stat hasn’t been supplied from your Ideal combi boiler. Bernard seems to now have confused you even more. You wouldn’t need the link if the common was from your boiler in existing setup. Does this now make sense?

    Edit: what you originally asked, yes.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. bernardgreen

    bernardgreen

    Joined:
    3 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    25,585
    Thanks Received:
    2,551
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As Chris has said Yes in your set up you will need to link Live to the Common of the switch in the Hive.

    Some boilers provide a separate "Live" supply for the Common in the thermostat's switch. That is not the case in your set up.
     
  11. Mubs

    Mubs

    Joined:
    21 Dec 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thank you all guys for your beneficial help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page