Needing power to my shed/reptile room

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all newbie here,

What i am wanting to do is get power to my shed which is being turned into a reptile room,
my sparky friend is working on the oil rigs and wont be back until christmas and i want things ready for him just to check over and wire in when he gets back.(plus i am at a standstill until all the cabling is done)

I am wanting to feed,
4x150watt spot bulbs
4x150watt ceramic heaters(type that go in a heatproof screw light fitting),
3x30watt uv tubes,
the lights and heaters will be on timers and have thermostats wired in,
the thing that will use the most juice is i want to be able to use my power tools in there aswell,and there maybe upto 1500watts of tube heaters on the go in wintertime.

what i need to no is this,
I have seen a 2 breaker consumer unit (IP55 GARAGE UNIT )
And it states it can be supplied with whatever size rcd and breakers.(so what do i need)

The power sourch will be the main consumer unit in the house and its going to take a good 15metre run to get the cabling into the shed,

Also i have some 50amp twin n earth cabling that i was hopeing will do for the power to the shed,(it isnt armoured cabling but i can get hold of steel conduit for this to go in)

Will this 50amp cable be fine to use as the power source ?
And what size breaker should i purchase for the main fusebox?
will the comsumer unit be ok?
and what rcd and breakers should i be looking at?

Also i am guessing that 2.5mm twin n earth will be ok to run for the sockets in the shed.

I would really like to get this all sorted so its just a wiring in job rather bother him to a full days graft after being away for 3 months,( i no he wont charge me aswell so i just wanna make it as easy as i can plus i can finish of all my jobs if all the cabling is out the way)
cheers in advance for any replies.

Sponsored Links
You need to read the sticky regarding Part P.

//www.diynot.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7553