Neighbours decking over looking all of our garden

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am new to all of this, I have joined out of shear frustration. Our neighbour has extended an existing deck/balcony to cover his entire garden and now he completely over looks our entire garden and can see into the back rooms of our home. He never even asked us if we minded, he just went ahead and built it. We contacted the council who sent someone out to look at it. We have been told it doesn't need planning permission as is it within 300mm of the height of his front door threshold. We live on a hill and the ground falls away front to back, the back doors are on the floor below the front. The deck is built right up to our garden wall, we have no privacy at all as a result and now tend not to use our back room. Our neighbour has 3 Akkita dogs and the deck has a 75cm feather board fencing around it. I am really worried that the dogs will jump the fence as occasionally our grand children play in the garden. Does anyone know if there is anything we can do to get this erection removed?

Sponsored Links
Its not only the 300mm issue but also the decking in combination with extensions or outbuildings must not cover more than 50% of the total garden area

Also the 300mm is nothing to do with the front door it is to do with the maximum height ground level. Unfortunately on a hill this means that while it may be a metre of the ground at one side the other end is only 250mm above meaning it still complies.