Neutral at switches for 2 or more way control

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm looking into rewiring my house as the existing setup is extremely dated. Floors need to come up anyway and it'll all have to be plaster boarded and redecorated so I have the opportunity to run anything I need, but I'm new to home ownership and automation.

For lighting circuits with 2 or 3 switches (some will have 2 way, others 2 way + intermediate) is it useful or beneficial to be running a neutral to ALL switches on the circuit, or should only the first switch have a neutral?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Oh what a tangled web you weave. Today there are so many options. My mother house when rewired had triple and earth drops to all switches so the extra wire could be used for two way or a neutral if required. But not seen a quadruple and earth cable, so to get both two way and a neutral not easy.

Either the ceiling rose can be used as a junction box (standard method in UK) or the switch back box (standard method USA) there are advantages and disadvantages to both, the British method means less volt drop, emergency lights are easy, and also ceiling fans, but using the switch back box means less of a problem wiring down lights, not sure why anyone wants down lights.

But today with electronic switching the strappers can be two wire instead of normal three, and with kinetic energy being use to work switches we can now get two way switching without any wires. If that is you need two way switching.

We have used Google Nest Mini's and the command Hey Google turn on landing lights for some time now, the switches still work, but not conveniently located.