1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New boiler - poor flow - total noob question

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by m112, 23 May 2019.

1. m112

m112

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hello,

I've had an old Worcester replaced with one of the latest Intergas + Opentherm.

New boiler works fine with DHW however the problem is with a CH.

It appears that boiler has very slow/weak pump - when I set a temperature on the thermostat to 30C boiler fires up for minute and then stops, after 2-3 minutes fires up again. The flow pipe from the boiler is very hot however the raidator are only slightly warm - despite having the TRV open to max.

I've never had a problem with CH before and radiators were heating quickly with an old boiler.

The boiler installer put some cleaning fernox cleaner into the system - somehow manually flashed it for a couple of minutes - but never open radiators when doing so - then they removed the dirty water, topped up Fernox inhibitor and filled out with the fresh water.

And now the question.

I started to think that Intergas boiler has either a very weak pump or the installer blocked pipes "while cleaning" which now causes a problem with the flow. This affects all radiators.

What do you think?

2. Sponsored Links
  3. easyflow

easyflow

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Slow weak ? more like a strong powerful pump, look towards installation and the condition of your systems carcass and radiators.

4. Elkato531

Elkato531

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Almost certainly no problem with the boiler or pump. Get the installer back to sort it.

5. muggles

muggles

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom