New build - Loft boarding and roof insulation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

We are having a house built at the moment and I am about to start boarding out my loft and have a couple of questions. I am a complete novice so some of the questions may be very obvious to some!

I have searched through other posts on these subjects but can't find the exact info I need.

Here goes:

1. I aim to use 22mm thick boards, but how do I go about selecting which screws I need? ie what diameter and length should they be? The joists are 14cm deep so there is no problem regarding selecting a screw that is too long, but what sort of length should go through the boards to the joists?

2. When screwing the boards to the joists, obviously I want to use countersunk screws. What is the best way to countersink the boards? Is it simply a case of positioning the boards and then drilling through with one of these drill bits that has a countersink included?

3. Similar to question 2 above I need to batton the rafters to get the required depth for my insulation. The rafters are 18cm deep but I need insulation 26cm deep.

Thanks for any advice, all is welcome!

Sponsored Links
1. I aim to use 22mm thick boards, but how do I go about selecting which screws I need? ie what diameter and length should they be? The joists are 14cm deep so there is no problem regarding selecting a screw that is too long, but what sort of length should go through the boards to the joists?

I would use size 8 length 50mm countersinking screws.

2. When screwing the boards to the joists, obviously I want to use countersunk screws. What is the best way to countersink the boards? Is it simply a case of positioning the boards and then drilling through with one of these drill bits that has a countersink included?

Pre drill 4mm holes through your 22mm board and the screw will sink its self in when tightened.