New cooker but wiring/socket is wrong, can you help?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am a novice in DIY terms so treat me gently!
I have just ordered a new electric cooker and the delivery men would not install it as the serparate socket that my old cooker was plugged into does not have it's own independent electricity supply, apparantly it is running off the main fuse box.

I have called out and electrictian (on the delivery mens advice) and he is coming monday. I am assuming it is dangerous to plug my new cooker into the socket I currently have? Can you confirm this for me? I am assuming I should wait until the electrician can come on monday and sort this problem out.

Also the socket I currently have for the cooker is not wall mounted and sits on the floor with the power supply going into one end and the separate hob being wired up to the other end of the socket.

I know nothing about electrics, can you help???

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
Yes, the electrician who is coming to see you on Monday. In the meantime, please don’t go near that abomination in your picture.

Sponsored Links
I think your problem is that the delivery men would not connect to a poorly positioned cooker socket. There is certain building regs that need adhereing to about cooker socket positions and they probably didn't want to be held liable. Without looking at your set up I can't say where the supply is fed from, It should have its own supply from the fuse box. Your electrician will be able to mount your cooker socket properly to avoid any danger to yourself and confirm where it is fed from. Just wait until he comes Monday and live off carry outs for a few days. Expect to spend a few £ sorting this out though.

Hi

I am a novice in DIY terms so treat me gently!