1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New electric oven with plug (old one hardwired)

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by busydad, 20 Aug 2015.

  1. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning,


    I have a quick question regarding fitting of a new single electric oven.


    The new oven comes with a 13A plug (Indesit FIM33KAIX). My old oven is hardwired into a connection plate behind the oven which is connected up to the cooker switch (I believe 45A?).


    I dont want to cut the plug off the new oven, so is there any reason I can't replace the connection plate with a 13A single socket and plug the new oven in? (obviously turning the power off first!)


    Is there anything I have missed?


    Many thanks
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. Swap the connection plate for a socket. Job done.
     
  4. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No problem replacing oven outlet plate for 13A socket plate.
    Likely cooker circuit is in 6mm conductors, but they normally squeeze into the terminals of a socket plate.
     
  5. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks for your help.
     
  6. kai

    kai

    Use an Unswitched MK socket - they have really generous terminals making it easier to install - The Cooker Control Panel remains the control point switch.
     
  7. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,125
    Thanks Received:
    4,035
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    No. Carry on
     
  9. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. ban-all-sheds

    ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    69,783
    Thanks Received:
    2,858
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wonder in how many other ways he lies and cheats in order to line his own pocket?

    Scumbag.
     
  12. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Morning, finally getting round to the job in hand. Ive taken off the cover for the cooker connecting plate and found 2 cables with 2 lots of L, E, N. Wasnt expecting that. Power definitely dead to cooker when turned of cooker circuit at consumer unit (and cooker switch) Would you just go ahead and try to connect into socket (will need an MK one as Kai suggested) or put one set of cables into an insulating block?

    The socket to the left in the picture is for the hob, so not touching that.
    Apologies for the poor quality pic - rubbish phone and poor light.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. jj4091

    jj4091

    Joined:
    1 Dec 2006
    Messages:
    5,017
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So you mean 2 cables as well as the cable to the cooker? What else stops working when you switch off the cooker isolator, eg. extractor fan?
     
  14. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes those cables exclude cooker cable (both sets originate from the wall). The extractor still works as on separate circuit (has a separate fused spur above oven, which kills the extractor when I turn it off). Slightly better pic attached (cooker wire cables out of site but are the new blue, brown colours)
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: 22 Aug 2015
  15. Iggifer

    Iggifer

    Joined:
    8 Sep 2011
    Messages:
    4,637
    Thanks Received:
    587
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not supplying the socket on the left though no? Those cables don't look like 6mm so you should be able to get them both in the socket anyway
     
  16. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No socket on left is also wired separately although in to the same circuit as power to hob killed when turn off cooker circuit.

    Took the plate off and the left wires are thin ones - the ones on the right are thicker as you can see. I cant understand what the ones on the left are.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. busydad

    busydad

    Joined:
    25 Aug 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah... unless the loop around in the wall to supply socket next to it for hob??

    EDIT - yes they do. Phew
     
Loading...

Share This Page