New garage dual outlet

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good Morning gentlemen of the internet,
I have ground floor ring circuit I would like to use to supply a dual outlet in my garage. My understand is this is called adding a "spur"

Inside the lounge there is a dual outlet on a metal backing box mounted to the thermalight block of a cavity wall, I would like to drill through straight into the garage (crossing the 100mm cavity) where I could mount a 25mm dual outlet plastic box. (with a 450mm drill bit for example)

From the existing outlet I would wire a twin and earth cable and run it through the drilled holed in the "wall|cavity|wall" into the back of the surface mount 25mm plastic backing box.

please forgive me if my terminology is incorrect, I am new to the UK.
Are there any flaws to my idea?

Sponsored Links
We have:-
A ring final which is normally supplied from a 32 amp overload wired on 2.5 mm².
A radial which can be supplied with anything from 16 amp to 32 amp, but the latter would normally be thicker cable 4 mm² or 6 mm².
A unfused spur, normally in 2.5 mm² and can only supply one item.
A fused spur could be 1.5 mm² to 2.5 mm² the fuse is normally part of a fused connection unit (FCU) and can supply as many sockets as you like.

There are two limitations, one volt drop, and one being able to supply enough current to trip the overload, a B32 overload will trip on the magnetic part in a fraction of a second, but needs between 3 and 5 times the current which will trip the thermal part. We also add 5% to allow for volt drop, so a B32 will trip at 160 amp ohms law 230/160 = 1.44 Ω add 5% = 1.37 Ω the problem is the plug in testers are designed for Europe even when they have a 13 amp plug, so pass at around 1.9 Ω which is really a fail.