New shower not draining - have some ideas but need help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've just installed a new shower tray and power shower (I'm a DIYer rather than professional!). I've not touched any of the existing pipework under the floorboards.

When the shower is working at it's maximum flow rate, the tray fills with water and takes a while to clear - essentially it seems that the existing pipework can't clear the water quick enough (the old shower was pathetic which is probably why I never had the same problem before). It seems stupid to just accept that I can't use my sparkly new shower on it's max power, so I'm trying to work out a solution...

The drop of the wast pipe seems acceptable - the total length of pipework under the floorboards is 3.8m and drops by 10cm (so approximately 25mm drop per metre of pipe). The pipework has to go around 2x 90 degree turns in the first metre of pipe, then runs straight out through the wall. Once outside the wall it does a 90 degree downward turn and joins into another 40mm pipe (along with the bath and sink wastes) for a metre or so into the stack (so essentially the water does 2 90 degree turns inside the house and 2 outside).

Any suggestions?! From scouring the forums all morning, I can see 2 possible was forward, but need some advice!

1) There is probably scope (with a lot of hassle) to drop the pipe inside the room by another 5cm or so. This would then place the shower waste pipe below the height of the existing exterior pipework so I'd need to run a new external waste pipe into the soil stack - this would allow me to create an even steeper drop off in the last stretch of pipe if that would help?