New triton 8.5kw shower - pressure/flow is just pants!

s79

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Apologies for all the waffling and the million questions in this thread, im a complete DIY/plumbing novice so please bear with me!

I had a gainsborough 2000x 9.5kw shower which had lasted nearly 15 years but decided to blow up while i was using it on sunday! :eek: The pressure relief device shot out of the heat exchanger shot out great force This also caused me to fall very ungainly on my ar$e due to the loud bang!
See this link for the parts i mean -
http://www.shower-spares.co.uk/aqualisa/aquastyle_instantaneous.htm (part 8a flew out of part 3a)

It had always been fairly reliable except on a 3-4 occasions when it completey burnt out the fuse my old style consumer unit!

Anyhow after it blew i decided it was lony due for a replacement anyway, so i got a mates dad whos a plumber to install a new shower for us yesterday. The shower was supplied by him - a triton enrich 8.5kw (which incidently he charged me £70 + £20 fitting)

He said the main core was apprently only 6mm! Which probably explains why the fuse had burnt out in the past. So i was actually quite relieved that he was installing an 8.5kw shower.

My problem now tho is that the pressure/flow from the shower now is absolutely rubbish! Even compared to the old shower which wasnt exactly brilliant anyway. Now I have to stand right underneath the showerhead. I assume this is because its only an 8.5kw?

Also i have noticed that there is a jerkiness (i.e. stop start )in the flow from the shower with the new triton which wasnt there with the gainsborough. (but I also noticed jerkiness in the taps leading up to the gainsborough blowing? Could i have developed a pressure problem? Could it be linked?)