1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

New tv aerial and signal booster not working

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by dave5600122, 22 Feb 2011.

  1. dave5600122

    dave5600122

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Morning all ! I bought a new digital high gain aerial and new 10x signal booster and, using a signal strength meter, tried to improve my tv picture. Dispite getting good readings on the meter ( 3 and 4 of the led lights ) I am not getting anything at the tv's. Tried re-tuning tv but to no avail. We are back to using the old aerial and the picture and sound continually breaking up, especially on BBC channels. The new signal booster has no effect on the old aerail set-up. Any help and advice will be much appreciated.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. big-all

    big-all

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2004
    Messages:
    18,446
    Thanks Received:
    1,424
    Location:
    Surrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you checked the orientation off the aerial as in rotate 90 degrees along its length [fins horizontal or vertical] as different transmitters use different orientations
     
  4. ChrisFrost

    ChrisFrost

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    1,025
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Did you meter it at the aerial to get 3/4 lights?

    How about at the cable end at the TV?

    Are you using the old coax or new?


    As well as I'd big-all's advice I'd also check the plug connections. You are looking for strands of insulation touching the central conductor. That'll kill the signal stone dead.


    BTW, if you need to run a 10x booster to feed a single TV then there's something very wrong or you live in the worlds worst signal area :LOL:
     
  5. Wac

    Wac

    Joined:
    12 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This may seem strange, but is your signal booster mains powered? I have just replaced my old tv aerial with a high gain digital aerial and signal booster and like you got no signal even after retuning the tv. I switched off the signal booster and retuned the tv and hey presto perfect reception on all channels.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. ChrisFrost

    ChrisFrost

    Joined:
    26 Aug 2009
    Messages:
    1,025
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    too much signal can be as bad as too little
     
  8. pellow

    pellow

    Joined:
    6 May 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Somerset
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A "DIGITAL" AERIAL!!!!!!
     
  9. Gees

    Gees

    Joined:
    19 Apr 2003
    Messages:
    915
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    AGREED.. However that dont stop some folk from advertising such things.
    I rang a local firm for a quote for a digital arial and was advised to get a "special" digital amplifier as well. What a load of old tosh.
     
  10. turanafon

    turanafon

    Joined:
    3 Apr 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    agreed you can feed a few tv.s via splitter without the need of a booster if the reception is ok
     
  11. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page