New velux window leaking inside the frame

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

We had a new velux put in our loft conversion last year. It is a GHL M04 type window. Now that the room is decorated and we've moved in there, I've noticed it has started to leak in the lower right hand corner, inside the frame.

Water is somehow getting inside the frame from the right, then runs along the little lip and down the inside slope of the wall. It is just a trickle, but enough to be a real pain.

velux0.jpg

I've called the builder back and he had a look at it and says he can't see what's causing the problem . It may be due to specific direction of wind and rain but obviously shouldn't be happening.

I've taken a couple of shots of the flashing outside. Anyone got any ideas?

velux1.jpg

velux2.jpg

Could he have put in the wrong flashing kit perhaps? The slope of the roof is 34 degrees (from the horizontal).

Thanks

Ben

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert but the tiles look to have been cut too much towards the middle and is the flashing comeing away too? there are videos on youtube about installing these.

Catlad: when you say 'side rails' do you mean the metal pieces that are screwed down on top of the wooden frame?

I noticed that those bits of metal don't go all the way down, but stop about an inch or so above the black plastic end caps. Which seems a bit odd as it leaves about an inch of wood 'exposed' (although still covered by the window itself when shut).

rjm2k: I don't think it can be the tiles too far over. Bear in mind the water is getting in inside the frame.

Sponsored Links
Can you see where the flashing is coming away from the side rail? surely that will just catch water and take it inside? looks like the flashing should be tucked under the side rail like the rest

Yes that is what I am saying they on the wrong side. so when they are on the correct side there will be no gap at the bottom.