newboy with some questions.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Afternoon all. Quick intro: I'm a new domestic installer who has been doing minor and non notifiable works whilst still working in my other job. I know its but the first rung and do not claim to be a fully qualified sparks so please be gentle. At present I am not part of a competent persons scheme as i have not done any work to warrant assessment ( and 90% of calls have been non notifiable and fault finding). However I've been asked to do some work that involves new circuits, and lighting in special locations etc, so now is probably the time to take the work and get assessed ( whilst hopefully passing some of the labc fee on to the client). Has anyone gone down this route recently. What did it involve. By that I mean, once the la has come out to assess work before commencement, would i do a pir on the property (of course i know i should) before commencing even though i'm not really legally permitted? Then on completion, would i also be submitting pirs, eic, test results, schedule of inspections to labc for assessment. I have tried speaking to them on the phone but the person on the other end knew less than I.
Any advice really appreciated.
Fried

Sponsored Links
Why not speak to one of the competent persons schemes, they will be better placed to advise what they require to register you for self certification. You could take one of those 3day courses like most kitchen fitters :rolleyes:

You do not have to be anything to do a PIR (even though i might think that you should have 2391).

The LA will not be interested in a inspection report - only the work that you carry out.

To add new circuits you dont need to do a PIR unless you are changing the consumer unit.

You do need to check a few important things, including:
Check all bonding is in place and up to regs
Check the supply and the installation is capable of taking the additional loads.

thanks guys