Nissan Micra misfiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm new to DIYnot and I don't think this issue has been covered. I have a 2004 Nissan Micra (K12) with a long-standing misfiring problem. A well-regarded garage has looked at it (including bringing in an auto electrician) and has drawn a blank after trying all the usual things (plugs, coils, battery, connections). The engine diagnostic light comes on (sometimes) and the code is "Random misfire". Sometimes the car will run fine for weeks on end, with or without the warning light on. But in very damp conditions it misfires badly and sometimes, like yesterday, gives up completely though it is OK again when it has dried out a bit. A local Nissan garage says they have seen the problem on 3 cars of similar vintage recently and each time they have had to give up and scrap the car - even a new ECU hasn't helped. We are about to give up but I wondered if anyone had actually managed to solve this problem. Thank you.

Sponsored Links
It is obviously an HT issue, so I'm surprised a garage would be unable to find it. Coil, HT leads, distributor (if it uses one), or plugs breaking down.

Have a look under the bonnet, when it is misfiring with engine running, on a dark night - some arcing might possibly show up the issue.

Thanks! Harry, there aren't HT leads, there's a pencil coil for each plug. Mottie, the diag doesn't show the cylinder.

Sponsored Links
If Mr. Nissan can't find it then that makes it pretty difficult for us!
However - if it's diagnostic comes up with 'random misfire' then it's not usually the coil pencils at fault....if it was then the specific cylinder would have been identified.....the same applies to the fuel injectors.