noisy hard drive

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am not very technically minded when it comes to computers but our hard drive seems to be quite noisy of late and I am wondering if there is anything we can do to sort this out ourselves or if we need to take the hard drive for a service or something.

It is making a sort of laboured whirring noise which does tend to go sometimes when you have been using the computer for a while. Having said that, I have been on here for 45 mins and it is still whirring away.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
order your new hard drive now

start copying your data to CD or DVD drives now

your old disk is going to fail

a new one might only cost £30 or so

I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my data
I must back up my whzzz hmmmmmmmmm BSOD

Sponsored Links
Yup, bearings are going. You can't have them serviced, the minute you open a hard drive up and the plates are exposed you won't be able to read from it anymore. Mine smelt like burnt toast when it finally went :)

I'd also seriously look at this product as well [that is, unless you already have it or something similar]
Acronis True Image 11
You'll be able to copy the entire contents of your current hard disc across to the new one in under 30 minutes -
as opposed to the 4-6 hours it may take you to do a clean os install/critical updates downloads/re-installation all your programmes etc etc.

An absolute time saver of the highest magnitude.

Homer

did you recently upgrade to Windows Vista by any chance?

Vista has a lot more stuff going on in the background, especially when your computer is "idle"

Most of it is related to the search indexing, which is designed to make your computer seem faster.