1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Norton 2007 firewall

Discussion in 'Software' started by micktheframer, 14 Oct 2007.

  1. micktheframer

    micktheframer

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi all

    I have Norton running on my laptop which was pre-installed when I bought it recently.

    The problem I have, is that I have to disable Nortons firewall to connect, it just won't allow me to connect to the internet, and then enable the windows firewall, obviously I don't want to connect without a firewall being in place.

    Every time I turn the laptop on I have to go through the same process, is it the way Norton firewall is configured or what?

    Does anyone have any ideas?

    Be more than grateful if anyone has the solution.

    Many Thanks

    Mick...
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Softus

    Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,559
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Uninstall Norton. :idea:

    PS - Don't reinstall it. ;)
     
  4. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its because its rubbish as is the anti virus as you have been told in your other post.

    Free firewall get "zone alarm"
     
  5. Softus

    Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,559
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ... if you want a software cow pat interfering with your PC. If you don't, then get a single port router with firewall in it.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. doyle

    doyle

    Joined:
    2 Nov 2006
    Messages:
    726
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    fire wall is recognising that comp is connecting so therfore blocks it its foing what it should.

    chances are it gave you an option at one time or another to block or to allow so you may need to go into the setting and adjust them.

    i think with nortons you can place it on low and internet will work fine.
     
  8. MasterAbacus

    MasterAbacus

    Joined:
    16 Jun 2005
    Messages:
    548
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ive not been this far down he Forum for some time.... but seeing this, then i had to stick in my two penneth....

    Firstly, Nortons Firewall, AntiVirus or Security are pretty much the best products on the market for home users. It maybe not so easy to configure, but generaly it installs and works out of the box, with regular updates that work along with Windows updates.

    99% of the freeware you can download online has some kind of tracking cookie, spyware or other nasty hiding away.... These freeware things should be avoided at all cost.
     
  9. Softus

    Softus

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2004
    Messages:
    19,559
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I can name at least 4 free products that don't - can you name 396 that do?
     
  10. empip

    empip

    Joined:
    24 Sep 2005
    Messages:
    6,269
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You'll probably find what you want here :- Click for Symantec

    -0-
     
Loading...

Share This Page