Not hot water or central heating! Vokera 20-80 Flowmatic

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I know nothing about boilers, so please forgive me if i am asking some silly questions or my explanations are not detailed enough.....

We noticed that the hot water was taking longer than normal to come through over a period of a couple of weeks, now we do not get any at all! (well very occasionaly it does work but we only have hot water for about 1 minute)
I just tried the central heating and that does not work either.
We have a vokera 20-80 flowmatic boiler, when the hot tap or heating is switched on the boiler makes all the right nosies, but to me seems like it does not ignite (no whooshing sound). The pilot light is on and the water pressure is ok.

As previoulsy mentioned i know nothing about boilers but I am a Hydraulics engineer, so i do not mind having a go myself - if only i knew where to start.

Any help or advice would be really appreciated (especialy as my wife is starting to nag!)

thanks in Advance

Martyn

Sponsored Links
Kev,

thanks for your reply.

How do i know if the pump is running? what should i check? i have tried to look at the boiler but cannot see any acesess into it, to check anything.

thanks in advance

Martyn

Just as an after thought:

Sorry if this is a question that gets asked all the time, please belive me when i say that i have scoured the forums but i cannot find a solution!

Martyn

Sponsored Links
place a screwdriver tip on the pump and apply your ear to the handle failing that undo the big silver screw and see is the shaft is turning :D

oops :oops: just re read your post they usually hinge from the bottom of the control panel if you look at the top somewhere there should be a couple of screws :D

Kev,

Thanks again.

trying not to sound to stupid here, but i cant even see the pump or get to it, i cant even see what i need to take off to gain acsess :( .

Arrgh!

Martyn

right forgive me if i sound patronising