Oil boiler smells, no sign of leak

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
Moved into a house with a Grant oil boiler a year ago. I swear I can smell smoke/burned oil throughout the house. Problem is, I’m the only one that can smell it, and neither myself or the heating engineer can find a leak.

To summarise:
- I’m an aircraft engineer, I’m certain I can clearly detect the smell of burned kerosene
- The wife, visitors and the heating engineer say they cannot
- No signs of drips or leakage anywhere in the boiler
- No signs of soot anywhere in the boiler
- CO alarm always reads zero
- Only thing I can think of is the flexible vent duct is secured to the exhaust by a wire wrapped round it. I’ve tried to improve the seal myself using heatproof tape, not sure if it helped.

Not really sure where to turn next. I swear the house smells like a 747 maintenance hangar, but I think the heating engineer has done all he can.
Replacing the boiler seems like a big gamble, I’m vaguely considering an ASHP as I’m a little worried about the long term effects of possible combustion gases in the house.

Can anyone suggest any other troubleshooting steps, anything I might have missed?

Sponsored Links
Is it a balanced flue, maybe flue gas leaking into the air intake?, are the flue gas readings normal?

Thanks for your reply.

I don’t believe it’s a balanced flue; the boiler is indoors and there’s no air intake outside the building.

I would be surprised if the air intake is internal, can you post a photo of the actual air intake at the boiler, is the boiler in a container?

Sponsored Links
If its got the grey flexible air duct it's balanced flue.
The clamp has altered in last couple of years it's now just a large jubilee type clip.
Grant flues are totally stainless with high grade seals I've installed many yet to see a problem.
Some clear pictures of flue externally would be useful.
We tend to fit a plume kit with these boilers as a matter of course.

Gotcha, ok thanks.