Old house: loft insulating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi.

I've recently moved into a top floor flat of a 100 year old tenement in Glasgow. A trip to the attic showed that there is no insulation, only lots of dust and old cables. The joists are spread approx. 15 to 15.5 inches apart to a depth of 6 inches. This seems too shallow for average roll-out loft insulation material and as the floor space in question is quite large I don't want to get involved in increasing the joist height. Are there any products that will give equivalent insulation effect to the recommended 270mm (though I have come across 200mm as the recommended depth in other sites - which is it?) but at only 150mm. I may also need to use the loft space for storage in future. I am a novice to DIY (first flat I've owned - no landlord to phone up with problems anymore!).

mnay thanks for any advice.
Eddie Brennan

Sponsored Links
Well, start by insulating to the 6" of your existing joists. This first 6" will make a lot more difference than the second 6" (or 150mm if you prefer).

The reason being that the first 150mm cuts out (my made up figures here) 80% of the heat loss. So it cuts loss down from 10kw for your flat to 2kW, and so it will save you 8kW (which at 9p per kWh would save you 72pence per hour..

The second 150mm will also save 80% of heat loss.... but only from the heat that has escaped the first layer. So it will save 80% of the 2kW and will save you 1.6kW (which is 14.4 pence per hour)

Figures made up for simplicity.

If you own the loft, and will want to be able to walk about up there, it is very dangerous to put thick insulation all over the timbers, as you will not be able to see where the timbers are and will probably fall through the plaster.

So if I was in your position, I would roll down the first layer of 150mm insulation first, then think about counter-battening it before applying a second layer and/or boarding. it.

Hi. Thanks. That does make sense.