1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Older wiring to a new 2-gang smart switch

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Tadaz, 12 Jul 2021.

  1. Tadaz

    Tadaz

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    We came to live in a new place which was built in around 1960 but this place has an extension which was finished to build a couple of years ago. This extension has a living room with a 2-gang switch.

    I purchased a 2-gang smart switch that needs neutral wire. From the colouring of the wires, I believe that the neutral wire exists (there is a blue wire, actually a few of them), but all the blue wires are bundled together. Now I am thinking, maybe an old house's installation was converted (somehow) to a new one and neutral does not even exist even though those wires are there. The old switcher has two COMMON holes, two L1 holes and two L2 holes but only COMMON and L1 holes are in use.

    I do not know a lot about electricity but I would like to learn more. Could somebody please guide me on how to replace this old switch with a smart one?

    Please find some attached photos. It will help you to understand my problem easier.

    IMG_20210712_195529.jpeg IMG_20210712_195536.jpeg IMG_20210712_202509.jpeg IMG_20210712_202627.jpeg IMG_20210712_202642.jpeg
     
  2. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,384
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your smart switch appears to be 3 gang, the old one is 2 gang so you’ll have one button that doesn’t work.

    the three brown wires that connect to the C (com) terminal on the old switch go to the L Terminal on new. Probably best to put them in a separate bit of terminal block and run a separate single wire rather than to try snd cram three wires in the one terminal.
    Run a new blue wire from the neutral terminal block to the Neutral terminal.
    The two brown wires in the L1 terminals each go to the L1 & L2 terminals. That’s it.
    Before you start, mark the wires so you can’t mix them up!
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,896
    Thanks Received:
    526
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look at the picture again. There is no screw in L3. It is clearly a standard back used for all their range.
     
  5. Tadaz

    Tadaz

    Joined:
    12 Jul 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, winston1. You are right.

    Thank you for your help Taylortwocities, it worked! Much appreciated.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page