Only 400 lumens+ bulbs allowed in new domestic builds????

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just going a bit mad chasing all latest regs.:

Looking at domestic building services compliance guide on new and replacement lighting- 'low energy light fittings should have lamps with a luminous efficacy greater than 45 lamp lumens per circuit-watt and a total output greater than 400 lamp lumens.' Fine, but-

Looking at various LED downlights for example, and most seem to meet the minimum 45l per W, (e.g. a 3W LED at 210lm), but obviously 210 is well short of 400+. I'm a novice to all this, but am I missing the point? I'm assuming 'lamp lumens' is the 'lm' or 'l' abbreviation........? Have I got this wrong? These bulbs are quoted as equivalent to 40/60W halogen, so are they really no longer allowed if 210lm?

Sponsored Links
No you are reading that quite correctly.

The 400 lumens requirement is to try and cut down on the number of total luminaires required, as each contains a lot of 'stored' energy (the energy used to make it).

To be honest it only really makes sense if you're doing a proper lighting design, as most domestic installers or DIYers will just throw up whatever number feels right.

Thanks very much for this. I don't feel as mad as I did last night. So in a new garage conversion, can I add say 8 LED downlights at the above rating, without being executed at dawn.......? Basically, are these rules for building control, or guidelines?

OK I've just come off the phone to my lighting specifier matey.

I got it wrong. :oops:

The reason 400 lumins is specified is very simple. The rules are that you must have a certain percentage of luminaires of the low energy variety. So, people were going out and buying cheap low-output 10x 1W LED lights (for instance) and then 4x 60W pendants to make up the difference. The light output of 1W LEDs is bu**er all, hence why the rule had to be introduced.