Outside light and waterproof switch on garage wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I am no expert at wiring, but I can do more than just wire a plug! e.g. I've wired in low volatge spotlights, and spurred power sockets etc.

I have just bought a brand new house with a garage. In the garage is power and lighting, so has a consumer unit with 1 fuse for power and 1 fuse for the lighting circuit.

What I want to do is put 2 outside lights on the wall, but have the switch outside, so that I can turn them on/off without having to unlock garage etc.

I'd also like to add a double power socket outside too, I guess this is the same as adding a fused spur to a normal inside socket?

Can someone offer an explanation, or maybe a more detailed description via email?

Would really appreciate it.

Sponsored Links
Firstly note that this work would probably be notifiable to your LABC under Part P of the building regs, since it involves work on a special installation (a garden lighting and/or power installation). There are arguments coming from the fact the Part P approved document (which is only guidance, not the law) says that the installation of equipment attached to the outside of a house is only notifiable if there are exposed connections though...

You'd obviously need an appropriate waterproof switch and socket, such as http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/MK56400.html and http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/MK56482.html

In terms of power, if the existing power circuit in the garage is a 16A radial (it most probably is, but obviously check), then you don't need to add it as a fused spur etc, just take a feed off the end of the radial (or break in to it at a convenient point) to the new socket. The lighting circuit is the same, just take a feed from the circuit somewhere to your switch, and then a cable from the switch to your lights.