Outside Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi There - Im pretty new to electrics but want to avoid the cost !

Ive fitted some outside lights and a pump for the pond. I want to just use a switch at the end of my decking to turn the pump on and off. Ive bought an outside 1 gang 2 way switch.

It has L1 & L2 at the top (On the back of the switch) and L1 at the bottom.

To make this simple for me could anyone tell me which colour from the pump i put in which hole (ie the blue and brown (Im ok with the green lol) and which hole i put the red and black from the incoming power supply ?

Cheers :)

Sponsored Links
Where are you getting the incoming power supply from?

PJ

To make this simple for me could anyone tell me which colour from the pump i put in which hole (ie the blue and brown (Im ok with the green lol) and which hole i put the red and black from the incoming power supply ?
So you think that a winning strategy for dealing with lethal voltages outside, is that you should fiddle away with no understanding whatsoever, and to blindly follow instructions to put-this-wire-in-that-hole, without having a clue as to why?

I don't think so.

Here is the simplest answer you actually need:

Sponsored Links
So you think that a winning strategy for dealing with lethal voltages outside, is that you should fiddle away with no understanding whatsoever, and to blindly follow instructions to put-this-wire-in-that-hole, without having a clue as to why?

I don't think so.

Here is the simplest answer you actually need:

ban-all-sheds I really think your attitude sucks. The person is asking how to do something. What's wrong with that? It's the whole purpose of the forum isn't it?
It's people like you who put off people asking anything at all.

Whilst BAS's replies may be perceived as being huniliating, there is great deal of sense and safety in what he says.