Oven and Hob cabling

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We are wiring in a new double oven (4kW) and hob (7.4kW). this equates to a maximum theoretical current of 47.5 although in practice the current drawn would be lower.
We have consulted our local recommended electrician who recommended a 50A radial and said a single 6mm cable from the consumer unit would be sufficient to supply both oven and hob. i am not convinced, but then i am not an electrician!
What is the safest and most convenient way to wire these appliances in?
- A 6mm for the hob and a 4 mm for the oven, each with their own circuit? I would rather not run 2 cables from the consumer unit but will if i have to.
- An even larger cable than the 6mm (10mm??) from the consumer unit to serve both oven and hob (as long as the oven has its won separate fused unit).

To further complicate matters, it is 20 metres from the kitchen to the consumer unit (via the loft, no alternative).

All advice gratefully received.

Sponsored Links
A 6mm cable to carry a 50A load is a no no!

A 6mm cable will carry 47amps clipped direct and even less enclosed in a wall or trunkin.

Your sugestion of a 6mm for the hob and 4mm for the cooker would be fine providing de-rating factors are acounted for and calcs for design current and volt drop are fully compliant with the regs.

I would maybe consult another electrician and make he or she fully aware of your concerns.

RMS

6mm² on a 50A breaker is a definite no-no, its not rated that high on any installation method.