Oversite concrete

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, I'm new to this so please be gentle!

I've got to pour my extension oversite concrete at the weekend and am not sure how to level it as the finished height of the concrete will be within(lower) than the new brick / blockwork perimeter wall.

I have ufh going in so the 100mm celotex will be on top of the concrete,then 65mm screed
My brickie has built up 2 courses of block ( up to damp )for the inside skin of the cavity wall.

I know it doesn't have to be spot on level but will need a good tamp against something and some sort of guide as to the correct depth. Obviously I can't put level pegs in!

I also have to put steel in I'm planning on putting this in first on 50mm concrete broken edgings to hold it off the bottom and then putting scaffold boards over the steel to barrow it across. Unfortunately I can't pour straight in from the truck.
Does this sound like the best way?

I'm sure I'm over thinking this and there is something easy I'm over looking!

Hopefully someone can help!

Thanks

Matt

Sponsored Links
It does not need to be too level however the flatter you get it the better.
You can make L shaped timber to hold your tamper batten or just use the brick course as a guide.
Support the scaffold boards on bricks between the mesh don't rest it on the mesh unless it's well supported as it might kick up.
You can add pegs in and put your DPM over the concrete.
Why are you adding steel into your slab?

Hi tomfe,

Thanks for your reply

The design spec says
150mm hard-core
Blinding
Dpm
Concrete reinforced with A142 steel fabric
100mm celotex
65mm screed

I'm just following that. Could it be because there's a soil pipe running through it?