Paint not sticking

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I started painting our utility room yesterday and fear I may have wasted a weekend on it. The room has had a new plasterboard ceiling which was skimmed and I've painted it with no problems. The walls are another matter. They are a fairly stubborn shade of orange and I had assumed our builder had sanded the walls last week as he told me the walls were now ready for painting. So my plan was to put a couple of coats of white on first before using a colour. I think the orange paint may have been a vinyl or something with a bit of a sheen as my white matt emulsion didn't stick. I left it overnight and gave it another try today but the orange is coming through as clear as day and the white paint just isn't covering it. It seems that the builder and I may have had crossed wires over what makes a wall ready, but I now realise I shall have to start again. This is my question - after leaving it to dry properly should I sand the walls or could I get away with using sugar soap and avoid the mess and heartache of sanding? Sorry this is a bit long-winded!

Sponsored Links
What kind of white paint were you using to paint over the orange?

It can take more than two coats of white to conceal a strong colour like orange. I had to put four coats of Natural Calico over turquoise, once. Plus, Wickes Trade isn't the greatest in terms of opacity. Try Leyland Trade - a bit more expensive but thicker and more effective for your job.

It is unusual for matt emulsion not to adhere to silk/soft sheen emulsion - are you sure that was what the orange surface was?

Sponsored Links
I'm not entirely sure what type of paint the orange is to be honest, but it was slightly shiny. I don't know if I ought to just persist (possibly setting myself up for a fall later) or start again!