Painting a bathroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi newbie here.

I have been reading past posts about paints for bathrooms and just want to confirm/check a few things please.

We have tongue & groove on the bottom half of the room, previously stained and varnished which we have now keyed and undercoated ready for satin finish. The top half of the walls were previously papered and we have had them skimmed to give a nice new surface for painting.

I have discovered from reading this forum that the best undercoat for the walls is the dulux supermatt (thinned) and to avoid the retail kitchen and bathroom paint. Dulux trade eggshell seems to get good reports for bathrooms, but the Dulux trade range has 2 eggshells. Is the one I should be getting the trade eggshell (solvent based) or the trade diamond quick drying eggshell (water based)?

Also will I be able to paint the radiator with the same satin paint I paint the tongue and groove with? Should I get trade satin or trade diamond satin? Are these a better finish than retail?

No kids to worry about so paint shouldn't be subject to too much punishment, just want the best finish and easiest to keep clean and free of mould etc from condensation.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I wouldny bother with the diamond glaze..I and a lot of other people have had problems with it.

Ordinary Acrylic Eggshell will do ya..made by Dulx Crown or Johnstones

Oil based Satin or eggshell finish will be fine for the radiator and paneling...not a good idea to use water based eggshell/satin on it.

Sorry for such a simple question but I am unsure what you mean by acrylic as I haven't seen this mentioned in the Dulux website other than in the Glidden product which is water based. Expected to use water based for the walls.