Painting exterior walls

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm a newbie here, so be gentle. I'm planning to paint my house this year, its roughcast white and its been at least 5-6 years since its been done and the paint is noticeably discolouring. A visual inspection is showing the existing paint is cracked and in places separating from the roughcast, i can snap sections off.

I've not tried this before, I was wondering how to make the surface sound before painting, or if i even should. To manually remove all of the sections of flaking paint before starting would be a massive job and one that would take weeks/scaffolding etc, so i am wondering if there is an alternative method.

Also, is there a good exterior paint to use? I've used Sandtex to paint a small lower section, but it did not last that long (I'm in Scotland, so weather a bit punishing).

Thanks in advance.

Dave

Sponsored Links
Without seeing it, I would suggest remove worst flaking paint with wire brush, clean off walls with water power jet ( power jet will remove some flaking paint) you may need to treat areas with a fungicide solution to kill moss etc. fill damaged areas with exterior filler, Then Seal Walls with stabilising solution, and apply masonry paint of your choice Two coats, (Textured or smooth)
I use Dulux Weathershield Products , this is a coastal area Sea Salts/ high winds etc.

Without seeing it, I would suggest remove worst flaking paint with wire brush, clean off walls with water power jet ( power jet will remove some flaking paint) you may need to treat areas with a fungicide solution to kill moss etc. fill damaged areas with exterior filler, Then Seal Walls with stabilising solution, and apply masonry paint of your choice Two coats, (Textured or smooth)
I use Dulux Weathershield Products , this is a coastal area Sea Salts/ high winds etc.

Many thanks for this advice, much appreciated.

DIYnot Local

Staff member