Painting new plaster disaster - please help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks, newbie here desperately seeking advice!

We've just had a new bathroom fitted but are decorating it ourselves to save some pennies. The builder skimmed the whole room (it's quite small) and said to use 2 coats of cheap emulsion, then "proper" paint on top.

Having spent all weekend painting (2 coats cheap emulsion, then 2 coats dulux silk) I came to take the masking tape off the tiles (to protect them from the paint) and it's pulling the paint off the wall with it - the paint's like clingfilm on the wall!! After lots of frantic googling I know now we should have watered down matt emulsion as a primer coat, but are there any options other than peeling off all our hardwork and starting again onto bare plaster?!

All advice/comments (other than how stupid we were!) gratefully received, thanks!

Sponsored Links
Hi, if you've masked the tiles, then it surely can't be taking much paint off the walls, maybe only a tiny bit around the edges. You should be able to slightly rub it back then just paint in the patchy bits. Maybe water it down and build a couple of layers up.

If it were me i would have just taken my time cutting in, without the real need for masking. But even if i do make the tape should not really be on the wall, it should butt up to it to form a nice dividing line.

The only true advise i could give, which has been given to me by the pro decorators who work at our company is "take your time to prepare it right". mask it carefully, cut in accurately.

I'm a decorating novice tbh and used to tackle job with all the grace of a sack of carrots on a horse, but now i actually enjoy decorating as advice i've heeded has paid dividends each time i do a room.

Hope it helps.

Hi kjacko, thanks for that.