Painting onto new plaster

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
complete newbie looking for advice. We have had the ceiling and walls skimmed. We plan to paint them but I need to know if I need to prep them with anything before painting.

thanks

Rich

Sponsored Links
Hi new plaster will need a watered down Matt emulsion this is called the mist coat, it will give you the base to then paint your chosen paint on top, just use a white emulsion that would be the cheapest option, if the plaster has any imperfections or a high gloss to it then give it a light sand first

Sponsored Links
when i searched is says 50:50 30:70 15% ?? also seems to depend on whose paint you use??

I am new to this and don't really want to balls up my kitchen - I am trying to save money not have to waste more on getting a pro to fix my mess...

There is a post right next to yours answering your question. I explain how much to thin by and why we apply a mist. You have to understand that yours is a common question asked and can get a bit tiresome when the information is right there in front of you. Hope it goes ok.

ok got that. don't use PVA dilute matt emulsion with 30% water and roller on and cut in with a brush...

roughly how long should I wait for it to dry, if the plaster is going to suck the water out of the paint?

i didn't see the posts 'below' when i searched, they were from 2007/8..

apologies, didn't mean to upset anyone.

Rich

Couldn't really give you a time on how long to dry, depends on how warm the room is and how absorbent the plaster is, just leave it over night you can start a brand new day then

Hi Rich, sorry didn't mean to come across as being funny, TBH this forum needs a few stickies and painting bare plaster is one of them.