pantry door insulation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone,

First post, so please be nice :)

My partner and I just bought a house. I am relatively new at DIY but we are trying to do quite a few things by ourselves. Painting, tiling, grouting, that kind of jazz.

The kitchen is quite small and has two doors: one takes to the corridor and the other one to a pantry. The pantry is very badly insulated meaning that you can feel the cold coming in when standing in the kitchen. The bottom half of the door leading to the pantry is wood and the upper half is made of single glaze glass pane.

I am going to buy some kind of insulation tape to put around the door frame, but should I put something on the window pane too? I don't need to see through the glass so it doesn't need to be transparent. Would a piece of mdf screwed on the "outside" (pantry) of the door do the trick or do I need to buy something specific (some wall insulation sheet or something)? Ideally I would like the door to maintain its aspect kitchen side, but it can look ugly pantry side.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Marion

Sponsored Links
It sounds like there may be draughts entering the pantry from the outside, Marion.....is there an external window or something?
In this situation probably draught excluders fitted to the door itself may suffice - often its useful to keep the pantry chilly if there's a fridge / freezer in there or whatever.
Sticking a sheet of MDF on the back of the door won't help much, if at all. Give us a pic or two of the situation if you can.
John :)

Hi John,

Thanks a lot for the reply.