Shelving under stairs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello
I am waiting to move into my first house and am naturally looking on Pinterest for ideas. I have a door from my kitchen leading to under the stairs... I have seen a couple of pictures on Pinterest showing people with similar spaces converting it into a pantry! I've seen a tutorial where shelves have been put up on the flat wall but I particularly like this look... https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/AZmRS8HCYSorCS95O4in94f4LWNfuMh7X7txPa6aHfdeHwqrzfWphMY/

How difficult would this be to do? Admittedly I am a DIY novice but I've bought a bit of a fixer-upper and we all have to start somewhere! Do you have any advice on how I would achieve these corner shelves against the slope?

Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
wont let me see much off that without registering
i would use the space more wisely as you will only be using about half the space
or the middle will get filled up with the usual crud and the wall section will be off limited use

Try this, B-A:

Shelves Under Stairs 001_01.jpg

Looks like a simple 2 x 1 PSE softwood framing job fixed to the walls around the perimeter and with an 18mm chipboard or MDF shelf on top. The upright pieces could be MDF, edged chipboard or plywood or even 2 x 1in PSE softwood. The actual shelf frames are what we call ladder frames. They are butted, pilot drilled, countersunk and screwed together. They can be fixed at the backs and one end into the wall:

Understairs Frame 001_01.JPG

But the "wagging end" needs some form of support such as a vertical panel or post which runs to the floor:

Understairs Frame 001_02.JPG

The sheet material cladding goes on top of the framing:

Understairs Frame 001_03.JPG

and the same technique of cladding with plywood, MDF or even hardboard can be used to box-in the uprights (with the addition of a batten on the wall opposite the upright to carry the ends of the cladding):

Understairs Frame 001_04.JPG

Understairs Frame 001_05.JPG