Part P? Question.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
If it has now become illegal to do DIY electrical work in residential dwellings, so why are B&Q, Homebase, etc... still selling electrical components?

Why doesn't the Government make BS7671 law?

I am a qualified Maintenance electrician and carry out "foreigners" quite regularly. I am thorough in my work and inexpensive to use. Unless I declare my work Part P will be bypassed. What stops the Cowboys taking this route?

Can anybody shine some light for me, please? :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
part " P " is led by a government initiative
please do not try and make sense of it!
there is no correallation between common sense and reason in this instance
i'm sorry i cant make any clear path of reasoning in this particular muddy scenario

spence :D

It is no more illegal to do electrics in your house-or anyone elses- than it is to do bricklaying, building foundations, installing insulation, windows, roofs,floors, plumbing, ceilings, you name it. Even painting in some circumstances. All these things come under some regulation or other, mostly building regs, exactly the same as electrics. If B&Q stopped selling everything which might be affected by building regs then they would be out of business.

damocles; what exactly is the purpose of Part P then?

How does it stop "Cowboys"?

Why can't a qualified spark pass his own work now? (Unless Gov'm't approved)

Sponsored Links
uselessFCUK said:

try reading up on it. there are more than enough threads on here about it.

A lot of building work is covered by existing building regulations. More gets covered every year. The rules mean that any work covered must be inspected either by building control or another approved body to confirm that it meets the standard set in building regs.