Part P VRQ courses

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I am looking at enrolling on a 5 day Part P VRQ course. Also a 2 day foundation and 3 day 17th edition course with tradeskills4u. My background is in electronics and I have A HNC in electronic and electrical engineering. The reason I am looking to do these courses is two fold. I want it to add to my quals as I am looking to move jobs from technician-manufacturing into maintenance engineering. I also want to be able to carry out electrical work in my own home.

My question is: Are these courses too good to be true? Can I really be qualified to install and inspect domestic work after 10 days?

Sponsored Links
Hi all,

I am looking at enrolling on a 5 day Part P VRQ course. Also a 2 day foundation and 3 day 17th edition course with tradeskills4u.
A college will probably be cheaper.

My background is in electronics and I have A HNC in electronic and electrical engineering. The reason I am looking to do these courses is two fold. I want it to add to my quals as I am looking to move jobs from technician-manufacturing into maintenance engineering.
That qualification is irrelevant to commercial work.

I also want to be able to carry out electrical work in my own home.
Unless you register with a scheme you will still need to notify in advance and pay the fee - the qualification on its own will not allow you to self-certify your work.

My question is: Are these courses too good to be true?
Depends on what you think the truth is.

Can I really be qualified to install and inspect domestic work after 10 days?
Qualified as in having a piece of paper which says you are legally qualified and know how to do it - yes.

Qualified as in being good enough to charge for your services - probably not.

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.