PAT testing televisions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have just been given the job to do PAT testing where I work. Although I am not a qualified electrician I would describe myself as a competent person and have good knowledge of basic electrics.
Have read various articles saying to be careful when PAT testing equipment with sensitive electronics (tv's etc) and to test these at a current of between 20 and 200mA , or at an "IT" test position.
The PAT tester I will be using only has test buttons for Class 1, Class 2, and IEC. Have contacted manufacturer to ask about this.
I am worried I may damage some televisions if there is no way of limiting the current.
Any help much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
What make and model is this pat tester? do you have a manual for it?

In general electronics with filters in musn't be flash tested. Having said that generally you shouldn't be flash testing during routine PAT tests anyway as repeated flash testing is not good for the insulation.

A standard 500V insulation test should be ok on any properly built equipment but could potentially do serious damage to say a computer with a faulty PSU. High current earth bond tests can damage equipment with bad earthing.

Because of this many testers have an "IT" setting that tests at lower levels that should still find faults while being less likely to do further damage to equipment.

Does your company have an insulation resistance tester?

You can perform 200ma continuity checks with one if your PAT tester doesn't do it.

Normally a 500v insulation test does no harm to a TV, whether Plasma, LCD or CRT (Not had a LED one to do yet).
As plugwash asks what machine do you have. I dont want to teach granny etc but do you understand when to use the Class1, 11 IEC etc. I also would not use your tester on IT equipment unless you can drop the IR test down to 250v

Sponsored Links