Pergola Structural Strength

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have recently built out a decking and pergola area in my garden. I must caveat this by saying I am a complete novice DIY'er, but like to get involved.

I have attached a few photos of how this looks currently - but I have concerns about the top bit with the rafters from a structural perspective. As you can see, I have used the timber on the outside of the posts (that were concreted in) using carriage bolts. In retrospect, I would have done this differently and maybe cut a piece out at the top of the post, so that those sit on top, instead of to the side to make it even more secure (hope that makes sense) - however I am reluctant to pull all of this down, especially having to take out all of the nails from the joist hangers.

So even though I could / should have done this differently if I was doing this again, my question is what I can potentially do based on what I have currently. A few ideas that I have thought of are:

• Adding further posts that are concreted into the ground at the back only. Obviously I wouldn't want to do this at the front, as I naturally want to keep the big opening as currently.
  • Adding triangular corner pieces. Not sure how I would this exactly, with the timber beams being outside of the posts, but I see quite a lot of pergolas doing this. I am personally not a huge fan of how this looks, but if it helps structurally then I am willing to do it.
  • Not sure if this will work, but adding another set of timber beams below the ones currently set up around the whole perimeter, which are attached to the posts - not sure if this will help at all though

Any recommendations on what I can do? I don't necessarily feel like this is going anywhere as everything is bolted in, but for example if I were to hang from one of the rafters, there is movement that is concerning me, hence this post.