Planning permission for front garden fence ?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good morning,
I am very new to the home ownership and DIY game.I have sadly led a sheltered life,LOL.
I have what may be a complicated situation if my friend is correct about not being able to have a front garden as a garden.
I recently moved into a maisonette,which as you may know is a sort of cross between a house and a flat.
Technically i own the house but not the land as such.
Maisonettes have varying gardens, and it can be lots of different divisions of garden space.
The place i live in is allocated the front garden.I wish to put a fence up around the front,about 5ft high solid panel, with 1ft trellace on top.this is so i can have the privacy to sit in the garden,hang out my washing,have a garden shed,just general garden things really.My friend seems to think I will not be able to do that.I have seen it done at another property i had viewed,but my friend thinks I would not be able to use it as a garden,one can only do those things if it is a back garden.Is there anyone out there who would know if this is correct ? I live in the bourough of hounslow.
Please can anyone help me with an answer,thanks

Sponsored Links
There may be limits as to high high a solid garden fence can be built, to the front elevation.

You may be allowed, for instance, to build say a 3' high wall then fix railings for the remaining height.

As for the ultimate usage, i would imagine it makes no odds.

As Noseall said: and very much down to local variations. Often 1 meter high is limit to front.
To quote recent experience:
Last house was built with defined restrictions of no fence whatever to front garden. All houses in street had to have open aspect to front. No specific allocation to the area, (e.g AONB).
This house we are allowed max 1 meter high open fence, i.e. no solid construction and must be able to see through fence. I assume for security/safety reasons. This area is classified as AONB.