Plaster marks & Sanding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I recently gutted our living room and went on holiday whilst the plasterer came in to replaster the ceiling & walls.
The work looked ok (I am no expert at all) so I paid the workmen and left the plaster to dry.

6 Weeks on and I am ready to paint. I did some research online and used watered down emulsion first.
After leaving it to dry I went to apply the colour and it looks awful.

The beading around the corners is showing through the paint. I can actually see the pattern. Any ideas what I should do?

The plaster wasn't smooth. Now I have applied colour I can see it looks 'bitty'.
There is also loads of marks similar to half a rainbow all over the chimney breast. How do I get rid of these marks because they are very noticible.

My question is can I sand down over my colour paint to make the walls smooth and then repaint? If so what sanding paper would you recommend?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
The bead pattern showing through- throw more coats of emulsion at it, it won't ever be perfect but it will quickly blend so only you will notice it. If it is really bad then you might want to get some filler onto the bit where the bead is showing (put a bit too much on) then sand it back to flat

Sanding- yes you can but you'll have to put many coats on the sanded bit before the texture comes back to match the unsanded. Depending how rough the plaster is- get some 200 grade to start with, try it and see how long it takes to get a lump flat. If it takes ages then get some 120, knock the worst off with that and then go over it with the 200 (to give you a finer finish). Oh yes, use a block with the sandpaper (lump of wood comfy size for your hand)- helps get a flatter finish

And next time you need some plastering done, find a different plasterer!