plasterboard size

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi i am re-boarding the stud walls in the kitchen.
Old plasterboard is down.I have been told by one of you good chaps on here i should use the vapourshield boards square edge as its being skimmed. I carnt seem to find boards that are 2500 in length as this is the height of my ceiling . So is it ok to have a 100mm cut at the bottom or top or is there a better way to do this.

Sponsored Links
you're going to have joints at the sides anyway, so what difference does it matter if you have one at the top?

I'd go for a bigger piece than 100mm though.. if it's going to be behind units then put the joint at the bottom.

Hi thanks for the quick answer if i make the piece say 300mm does that sound ok.
maney thanks rich

how would I know, I'm an electrician.. ;)

I was only going by what I myself would do.. it's going to be easier to make a larger piece flush and level with the others than it would be to do the same with a smaller piece..

Sponsored Links
coljack thanks it sounds right what you say.
If any plasterer has any other suggestions would be welcomed to comment.

I would add that maybe the structure of your stud frame may have a bearing on the decision also.

I suspect you would want the board edges to join so that a wooden beam is behind and you can secure both edges of the p/b to it. This would be more secure.

I can't see problem with a 100mm strip at the top. Once its all skimmed it be OK.

Its easier to fit the full board first off the floor, and then infill the top - as the ceiling may not be precisely 100mm from the board edge so its easier to mess about cutting little strips rather than whole boards.

Remember that plaster board should not touch the floor - raise it by using packers of plaster board offcuts ie 10-12mm. And then remove these once the board is fixed