Plastering a Full Wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Need some info

Quite a few years ago I plastered our new extentension which had four full walls and the ceiling, I had done some before in another house and it all went off ok and I had a good smooth finish on the walls.
But now I have just done some in my hallway a full wall, and for the life of me I can't get a smooth finish on it, its all wavey and bumpy, I used PVA to help bond the plaster to the existing plaster, and waited to smooth it out and then when it was hard I tried to polish it, but it looks crap.

I have used some one coat plaster from Wickes do you think it might be the plaster, its white I have always used the gray coloured stuff and have not had any problems.
Anybody got any suggestions on what might be the problem, even if its me ?

Flack :confused:

Sponsored Links
The one coat plaster is noted for being less forgiving than more traditional types. Sounds like you overworked it. I am still a novice when it comes to plastering, but one thing I've learned is, when you go back to float it off, if it aint ready, leave it alone and come back later.

One of the best bits of plastering I ever did was by accident. There I was struggling to get it nice when I got a phone call to pick up my daughter in an emergency. By the time I got back I was expecting it to have gone all hard on me. Instead, I found it in that magical state where it went like a dream. Ironically, the bit I'd previously overworked before the phone call was an absolute b***er to get stright. Little mounds all over the place that show up like a sore thumb once they're pollished.

Yep my problem was my one coat plaster I took a bag back I had left and swapped it for Wickes finishing plaster... what a dream to use very good and smooths like a babys bum...
I have now just finished plastering my hallway stairs and landing and it looks gre at..