Plastering Large areas - Technique

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I think I bit off too much today and thought I could do a whole wall which was about 8'x16'. By the time I finished one mix and I'm no pro I had no time to go over the begining to flatten out the lines as it took too long to get the mix on. How do you pros manage big areas? Obviously small sections would be sensible but how to you blend in the finished plaster with the bare wall to take the new plaster?

What do you guys do in this situation, do you do say half a wall then go over to flatten and finish the rest of the wall off or do you finish the first part of the wall to the final wet/dry trowel and then do the other half from scratch too?

Any tips most appreciated.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
One word mate Experience, the more walls you do the faster you will become,don't forget a good coat of pva on old walls to kill suction. :p

I suppose that is a big factor but was wondering if there was some sort of knack to it rather than just finish as fast as you can :LOL:

I've managed getting the first skim on pretty quickly its the second that seems to take time obviously with the additional steps.

Just plastered my first ceiling using stop bead to break the ceiling into two parts. Found this to work well. Skim upto stop bead (two coats) remove bead then do other half of ceiling on same day. Found this trick on this great website. Put some pics in album.

Sponsored Links