Plastering with one coat..

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
l'm plastering my chimney breast wall to cover where the coal fire was.
l have boarded the opening up and it needs building up by 50mm to get it flush with the walls.
l,m using one coat plaster and have put two coats on and have a final 10mm coat left to do, what l would like to ask you plastering experts is how do l get a smooth flat finish the same level as the walls l'm plastering up to.
As you can tell l'm no plasterer and this is my first attempt, the area is 4x4ft.

Sponsored Links
Most undercoat plasters are applied to a thickness of 10-15mm maximum with 2-4mm finish skim & one coat can go up to 25mm but 50mm is way too thick. If its plaster board you’ve used you may well have exceeded the maximum weight you can hang off it & it may not stay flat for long. Why did you batten & board the opening so far back from the face of the wall?

Getting it flat & smooth finish on plaster is where the skill comes in & should not be underestimated; the forum archive has many threads giving hints & tips but the thicker you apply it the more problems you will have as a novice. Personally I never use one coat as I don’t like it; it takes an age to go off & never looks as good IMO.

If you are 50mm out you need to start again :( 50mm of plaster is way to much to hang off of plasterboard.

Sponsored Links
If you are 50mm out you need to start again :( 50mm of plaster is way to much to hang off of plasterboard.
l did'nt use plaster board, l used screws to put osb board on batten built frame then put one coat plaster on in coats..

one coat on osb board wind up
No wind up... what can happen by using osb board instead of plaster board, it seem to have gone on ok.