Please can you tell me percentage of brake left on these pictures

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I am not a mechanic but I have done a fair share of work on cars in my younger years and I always thought it fairly simple to check the wear on brake pads but recently something happened that made me completely doubt myself.

My 82 year old mother took her car to her regular mechanic who does everything for her on her car and he takes it to a local garage he has a relationship with for the MOTs. He took it for its MOT and brought it back with a pass but a very strong recommendation to change the front brakes which he said he would come and collect the car for another day in the week.

I got involved when my mother said shouldnt the back ones be done at the same time. I have a little scope camera that works with my phone and so I checked the brakes.

I have fitted brakes in previous years so I have a fair idea how they look new and warn. The mechanic said they are desperate and the MOT advisory says strongly recommended to change front brakes.

The MOT garage is considered very reputable by locals by the way on the whole. Also my mother only manages just over 2000 miles per year I worked I saw from the MOT's (I was surprised too).

What percentage left can you see?

Sponsored Links
Plenty of life left in the those pads in my opinion. Difficult to say for certain as the photos are quite close up, but i'd say 30-40% of their life left. However, what about the pads on the back of the discs at the rear?

The top picture isn't very clear to me but, if those are pictures of each pad, I can't see a reason to rush out and replace them.

Brake pad wear in the 50% region I'd say....what we can't see though, is the inner surface of the disc which could be badly scored.
John :)

Sponsored Links