Plumbing & Central Heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am currently studying for a Plumbing Certificate at college (part time). My aim is to get into the business as soon as possible. I tried to do the NVQ course but I was told that I had to be working in the trade in order to do the NVQ2 and in any case, I have to finish the plumbing certificate first.
Does anyone know first of all how long the NVQ2 takes and what is involved in it and also going beyond that, how do I do the gas training & assessment. I was told that you can pay £3000 to go on a gas course but this seems a little excessive. Anyone able to shed some light?

Sponsored Links
I did my NVQ2 in plumbing in 9 months going to college for 18 hours a week and towards the end made myself a bit of pocket money by doing small jobs I was confident with which gave that bit of real world experience, then went full time self employed. Looking back I was very disappointed with the course...too much lead work for me I was never going to use.

I went to work for British Gas after this as a trainee and then got my NVQ2 & 3 in gas servicing and maintenance which was a much tougher and steeper course and probably learnt more in the first month than the entire 9 month NVQ2.

Your problem lies in the fact that you now can't take the NVQ's or the ACS exams without work experience even if you do pay £3000. The problem with that being that nobody wants to hand out work experience because as soon as you get it you will bu$%er off and work in competition with those who gave it you. Maybe someone here can tell you a way around it but I can't see one :(

Hi I'm in the second year of the plumbing nvq. Ours was the last year to be accepted without workiing in the trade. No-one in my group has been able to find work experience with a plumber, even working unpaid. But then again almost all of us are older than 30.