Plumbing Course

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would like to retrain and Plumbing is obviously a good area to look at due to the shortages.

Problem is I don't have time or money to go to college for 3 years so I have been looking at other things (part time). My view is that even if I don't end up going into the trade then I will be able to do all my own domestic stuff.

I've seen a course from OLCI which is open learning and a couple of workshops and was wondering if anyone else has taken this up and can say if it is worth it.

Also I don't know if people have seen the CDs for plumbing off ebay but if you can recommend one then let us know.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
As a plumbing student I've spent over 50 mornings in a workshop at college and still feel nervous about doing anything in other people's houses (because little mistakes can result in a lot of water spurting everywhere) so I would regard a course which offered only two workshops
as a ripoff. I've got lots of plumbing books . The one which is most helpful in a very very practical way is the Readers Digest DIY manual which is a satisfyingly thick and bulky book.

You need to know the theory, which these CDs and open learning courses seem to offer, but unless you get loads of hands-on practice as well i don't see how you would become very competent.

Thanks for the info.

It's difficult for the part timer to fasttrack then.

What line of work are you in at the moment and for how long.

Alan

Sponsored Links
I am actually a Telecoms engineer doing quite well financially, but the more I.T. is outsourced to India then the less significant my skills are, so I was thinking of retraining.

Current contract is on until July so wouldn't mind at least deciding which way to go soon.

Obviously I know there is no easy route to a skilled job but theres no point sitting around thinking about these things, might as well get off me arse and do something about it.

Cheers

artcle in H & V NEWS last week: